Rebuild or Start Fresh?

Recently an acquaintance of mine, Albert Rivera posted a before and after picture of his 1 year physical transformation and Albert has done a great job.  He also wrote an excellent blog post (click on the “blog post hyperlink to read it) that can serve as inspiration for all those out there looking for help as well as motivation in their personal journeys.  Shortly before Albert wrote this post and shared his picture I began to think about something, is it better to rebuild yourself when you feel lost and defeated or to wipe the slate clean (figuratively speaking) and start fresh?  I had this thought for many reasons, but the primary reason (like most of what I write) is from personal experience.  Sometimes rebuilding is not practical because the foundation that you are trying to “rebuild” on was never sure in the first place and has cracks in it, which would cause whatever you rebuild to ultimately not survive long as no building or person can survive and last long on a faulty foundation that’s not able to hold them up.

I’m not an architect or a civil engineer but I can tell you that nothing that you do will last if your foundation isn’t sure.  Having grown up in a similar situation to Albert as the chubby kid I understand some of what comes with that and seeing what Albert has accomplished for himself reminds me that what I’m looking for both physically and in other areas is not out of my reach and that my drive to keep pursuing what I’m doing is not only the correct choice for me but the right path.  While that may sound redundant (correct choice and right path) I assure you it isn’t.  We all have choices in life to make and many of them are correct for who we are and there wouldn’t be anything wrong with them however that doesn’t mean that your correct choice will put you down the right path for your life.

Whether you are a Christian or believe in the Bible or not this verse from the Bible in 1Corinthians 10:23 according to the New Living Translation is very applicable to what I’m saying:

  • You say, “I am allowed to do anything”–but not everything is good for you. You say, “I am allowed to do anything”–but not everything is beneficial.

This verse is something that when you are examining a life change you should really think about to help determine if your foundation is sure enough for you to rebuild on or if you have to start everything off fresh and build a new foundation for you to stand on.  Only you can determine that for yourself but what I’d like to leave you with one final thought; when you encounter fear during the process of making a major life change, that fear (usually by design) is meant to keep you comfortable where you are so that you will never get you to where you want to go; in other words as I’ve said before, you are allowing your past to hold your present hostage making your desired future impossible.  So what will you do now that you know?

Haneef

 

PS-Thanks Albert for the boost in inspiration.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

