In Memory of my brother Jeffrey Tyrone Richardson

Today I’m in New York, my birth state and hometown to attend the funeral of my brother.  I still can’t believe that I’m going to be at his funeral today.  This feels so unreal.  I’ve been to far too many funerals in my lifetime and I’m not happy about going to this one but I’m going to try my best to do what I know my brother would want me to do and that is live, be productive, and enjoy life.  I’m going to try my best today at his funeral to celebrate his life and laugh as much as possible instead of crying because I know he would rather me laugh at good memories then cry at his body.  I’m going to do my best to play music with all the passion and fervor that our discussions about jazz were about because I know that will honor him for the rest of my life.  I’m going to do my best to be there for my family as well as myself.

But most of all, I’m going to do my best during this service to get people to remember to be happy about all of the good times we had with him so that we can cry when needed but spend more time laughing, smiling, saying I remember that as well as discover some good things that we collectively may not have known about him.  So to my brother Jeffrey Tyrone Richardson, I love you, and will do my best to honor you and your memory for the rest of my life.

 

  1. #1 by Berkley Boyce on January 20, 2012 - 12:56 am

    Jeff Richardson was a mentor and a role model for me.He gave me an opportunity to pursue a vocation that has now become a way of life. I will forever be indebted for his belief in me and I will continue to honor his memory by giving so freely that which he gave to me.

Leave a Reply

