Social Media Mirror

Recently I posted a comment on one of my friends Facebook page that made me think about myself and what I was saying.  I didn’t say anything bad or negative but when I read the comment it made me think about not only what I was saying, but how it may be received by others that know who I am but don’t really know me (not that I need another persons validation on what I say, but I’m not trying to have my words project an image of me that isn’t true either).  The fact of the matter is that anyone who grew up outside of the age of Social Media knows that the idea that one statement, one picture, one status can be broadcast around the world in a matter of seconds would have said that this is impossible, but not anymore.  I guess what I’m trying to say here is that Social Media can be a mirror to really show you who you are as well as who you are trying to be.

There are a lot of internet tough guys/girls out there that will act like they’re something that they are not because they feel like they can hide in anonymity behind their keyboards and say something online that they would never say to someones face.  At the same time, you have a lot of people who find comfort and solace in the realm of social media because of the anonymity it provides as well as find a way to live their social lives vicariously through others.  No matter where you fit on the spectrum of users of social media one thing is clear; if you take a look a good, hard, and honest look at some of your own postings  in the various social media circles that you belong to, you will see a reflection of yourself.  But my question to you is what reflection will you see?  Will you see who you want to be?  Who you wish you were?  Or will you actually see yourself?

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

