Thoughts from a Blackout

I’ve had a lot going on lately. I happen to be a Connecticut resident who was affected by the snow storm and subsequent power outage. The power outage caused a lot of difficulties for a lot people but it also made me really think about life and what we take for granted everyday. I’m fortunate that my power came on within 4 days as some people are still without power and this would be day 11 for them.

During my time without power I spent time thinking about what’s important to me and what’s not. This really had me thinking about various people in my life and why some of them have to go. This time also gave me the time to reflect on my priorities. For most of my life, I’ve always put other people’s needs, happiness, and dreams above achieving my own, and while that isn’t always a bad thing, it can become a bad habit when you are always put to the side and left dejected because you feel as if you’ve done so much for so many people and there hasn’t been any reciprocity.

I can tell you this, if you feel like that, you have to take responsibility for these feelings and then do something about them, as you are in control of these feelings.  Let me also make something else clear here, you should NEVER UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES CHANGE WHO YOU ARE TO FIT SOMEONE ELSE’S MOLD.  Changing who you are should only happen if it is something that YOU want to do.  I guess you can say that being without power and have to rely on the kindness of a real friend has made me think more and more about what’s really important.  And anyone that knows me from my college years to this day will understand when I say that some of the people within this environment have a really bad habit of trying to make sure that you either conform to what they want you to do and be at the expense of who you are or that you don’t ever accomplish what you want.

But in the end, you are always in control of what it is you want to accomplish and no one can stop you from doing so except you.  I’m definitely living proof of it, as it may be taking longer than what I wanted to get to some of my dreams and goals, but I’m getting to them and that’s great!

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

