Thoughts about a Recent and Past Church Experience

(BEFORE YOU READ ANY FURTHER I NEED TO SAY UPFRONT THAT THIS POST IS NOT AN ATTACK ON ANYONE OR THE PARTICULAR ORGANIZATION REFERENCED IN IT NOR IS IT MY NORMAL TYPE OF POST GEARED TOWARDS DEALING WITH THE ISSUES THAT MOST OF US ENCOUNTER EITHER IN ACHIEVING OUR DREAMS, GROWTH & DEVELOPMENT, ETC.  THIS POST IS VERY PERSONAL TO ME AND CONTAINS MY THOUGHTS AND FEELINGS ON MY EXPERIENCE THIS PAST SUNDAY AS WELL AS SOME OF THE HISTORY I HAVE WITH THE ORGANIZATION REFERENCED, SO IF YOU CHOOSE TO READ THIS I HOPE PLEASE READ IT WITH AN OPEN MIND AND NOT A CLOSED HEART)

On Sunday I visited a church I used to be a member of for the first time in a very long time.  While it was nice to be there for the visit at the same time it was also sad.  It was nice because I saw that there are still some people that are passionate in their worship and praise of God.  It was nice in that some of the people that I haven’t seen or spoken to in years seemed very happy to see me, including a few of the people that I didn’t get along with too well while I was there.  It was also nice in seeing some of the children that I used to help, teach, or just play with during various church activities growing up.  But at the same time it was sad because I saw a lot of untapped potential and a lot of unfulfilled dreams amongst some of the members of this particular church and with the ministry of the church overall.  It was also sad because there is much that is still the same since I left this church over 3 years ago and the one constant thing in this world is change.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, if you are never changing, you are not growing and that is sad.  In fact, the message that was preached on Sunday morning was titled Chosen for Change and it spoke about God’s people being chosen for change, the kind of change that will revolutionize their lives and the lives of the people of the world around them.

Please don’t misunderstand this post, this is not me trying to speak ill against this church or the people in it, this is just me voicing how I felt there on Sunday and trying to get one single solitary point across, if you are continually doing the same things, and expecting different results you are living the definition of insanity.  As much as I still love this church and its members I know why the growth is stagnant, I know that very few if any would listen to what I have to say about it and do something with what I have to say, and that is the crux of why it saddened me.  At the same time, it’s because I still love this church and its members that I’m not afraid to say what I have to say.  If you are a member of this church and you are reading this post, know this, I don’t apologize for the content of this post but if this has offended you, please call, email, Facebook, whatever you need to do to contact me and I will apologize for the offense it may have caused.  If you are a member of this church and you are reading this and you’re ready to “run and tell or show the pastor what I wrote”, then I have this much to say to you, you are being more of the problem and less of the solution and regardless of if you go and run to the pastor or not, I stand by what I’m saying here because it is true and you wouldn’t be running to him if it wasn’t for the fact that you’re looking to gain some type of favor with him.  For if your concern was truly about what I’ve said and how you feel about it, you’d come to me and not him.

The bottom line for me, is that I’m continually learning to put all of my trust and reliance on God the Father, God the Son (my Lord and Savior Christ Jesus, and the way I wrote His name is not a typo), and God the Holy Spirit because as much as we like to sing songs saying that we surrender all or make such proclamations during times of worship, we don’t surrender all to Him.  I’m also a person that will continue to search the scriptures and not except everything that I hear as being the Gospel Truth until it can be confirmed by either the spoken, written, or revealed Word of God.  Once again, I’m not her trying to attack anyone, I’m just stating the truth of the situation that I’ve seen and experienced 1st hand, and it’s because I have this experience that I can say what I’ve said today.

With all of that being said, I think I’ll end this post with one final thought, if God is truly God and you truly believe that the Bible is his inspired Word, then learn to study His Word so that you can be what the Apostle Paul said we are all supposed to be in 2Timothy 2:15:

-Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

