Belief

“Who you are is not a product of what you have as much as it is a result of what you believe about yourself and the world you live in.”

I wrote the quote above this morning on my twitter account and since I wrote it, it has had me thinking.  Many of the failures that I’ve experienced in life have been a direct result of believing that I couldn’t do what it is I failed at and that the world around me along with the people in it were reaffirming this belief by the constant discouragement, taunting and images that said that someone like me could not be successful in areas that I tried to be successful in.  While this may be the reality for several people, that doesn’t mean that you have to believe this about you.  I had to come out of believing that I was who other people told me that I am and start believing what both God and myself had to say about who I am.

Understand that I’m all for getting feedback and opinions when they’re necessary but I don’t base my life or myself on them.  I don’t want to sound like super mystical new age guru right now but there is some truth to receiving what you believe in.  Maybe I’ll spend some time writing about the rest of this truth.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

