The Value of a Promise

The value of a promise isn’t in the words that are spoken or is it in the fulfillment of the promise. Now I know that may sound strange as a promised fulfilled is a good thing but I have found that the true value of a promise is with the intention in which it was fulfilled.  This realization comes from me making promises I was more than happy to make to someone, but when the time came to fulfill them we were not at a place where I wanted to do anything for them (although I did it anyway).

That said, although some may say it’s admirable that I fulfilled the promise anyway I say it’s not. It’s not because a promise fulfilled out of ones sense of obligation isn’t really worth as much as a promise fulfilled out of a persons sense of integrity and joy of completing their word.  This experience has made me understand why I seldom promise anything to anyone outside of my son, as I don’t want to be in a place where the fulfilling of my promise is insincere and out of a sense of obligation instead of a place of joy and integrity.

What do you think the value of a promise is?

  1. #1 by Penny on March 21, 2011 - 8:41 pm

    I put much value on my promises. I think one should be careful as not to promise something-that cannot be kept.

Leave a Reply

