Now That You Know What Will You Do?

This has been an interesting morning for me today.  A few things have happened that looked like they would be setbacks but are turning into blessings in disguise. But what is most interesting to me is a conversation I had with a friend of mine today.  In this conversation we were both talking about unresolved issues from our past that have affected not only the way we viewed ourselves but the decisions that we’ve made.  One of the things my friend said was it’s taken them until their adulthood to realize that they’ve been making decisions through the lense of an unresolved issue from their past to which I replied, “Doesn’t matter when you realize it, but what does matter is what you do with it.”

Right at that point it hit me, what will you do once you have gained knowledge about something that has been alluding you for so long?  Do you stand still and marvel or do you actually get up and do something about it?  Have you every truly taken the time to think about all of the things that you received some enlightenment about but haven’t taken any action based on that enlightenment?  I can tell you that many an opportunity has passed people by because they discovered something, or had an idea about something and didn’t do anything with it.

How many people have you run across who after seeing the newest infomercial said that they had thought about that idea years ago and never did anything?  The biggest reason I can think of for gaining knowledge and insight is to do something with it.  One of my favorite cartoons in the 80’s was G.I. Joe and at the end of every episode they would have a moral lesson to be taught that always ended in someone saying, “Now you know and knowing is half the battle.”  Well if knowing is half the battle, then I have to say that doing something with what you know is the other half.

So as you learn more and more about yourself and the world around you will you be the one that just sits aside wondering what if or will you be the one that is busy acting on what you know to create what you desire?  The choice is yours.

  1. #1 by Penny on February 17, 2011 - 10:04 pm

    This reminds me of the meetings that I have had at the crossroads on my journeys through life. I could make choices to moving my life forward, maybe taking a few risks here and there or I just set still and stay in my comfort zone, without attempting to try something new and adventerous for making improvements in my life.Noting ventured, nothing gained.

Leave a Reply

