Who Are You?

You know as a teenager I always found myself trying to be someone else depending on who I was with.  I was an honors student throughout my school years and in my high school many of the “popular kids” were honors students.  So like many other teenagers, I tried to lie my way into popularity and I was popular for all of the wrong reasons, lying being the chief of those reasons.  I just wasn’t happy with who I thought I was as it seemed to me that who I thought I was wasn’t someone that most people wanted to be around.  The truth of the matter is that I didn’t have a clue as to who I was at that point in my life.

 

So many people spend their lives trying to be someone that they are not all because they are not able to answer one question; who are you?  When you are asked that question by a random stranger the most common answer is to give your name, but if you think about it, that doesn’t answer the question at hand.  The question of who are you doesn’t deal with the name that you’re given.  It does however deal with your character, values, dreams, and goals.  This question is the very question that solidifies your identity; not in the aspect of what your license shows, but in the aspect of what your character personifies.

 

I’ve said this to some of my former students (as many of them can attest to) if you tell me your dreams, I can tell you who you are because hidden within your dreams are your values and morals, the very things that your character and identity are based on.

 

I’ve met so many people that base their lives on what their favorite celebrity is saying, doing, wearing, and endorsing.  In fact, I believe (and I could be wrong) that if you asked 10 people to tell you who they are using what I have stated is the basis for this question that at least 6 of them wouldn’t know how to answer the question without a  reference to pop culture, fashion, music/music videos, or movies.

 

It is vitally important for you to know who you are, because if you don’t know who you are, then someone else will not have any problems molding you into someone that you were never meant to be.  It’s similar to a saying that I’ve heard very often in my life, “If you don’t have a plan for yourself, you’ll be a part of someone else’s plan.”  I’ll modify this just a little to illustrate my point, “If you don’t know who you are, you will become whatever someone else decides they want you to be.”

 

I believe that everyone of every age group goes through periods of reflection and revision (when they already know who they are) or self-discovery (when they are trying to find out who they are).  Both events are equally important and are heavily influenced by significant life changes that can occur.  But it’s only when you are fully aware of who you are that you can make lasting changes in your life as well as begin to realize your dreams and goals.

 

It’s better for you to find out who you are and be that person rather than a clone of someone else.  Your were created and made as a unique creature that has no duplicate in this world, so be who you are for the world needs what you have to offer!

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

